Are you a SkateBaby 👶🏽 Find out more about Mr. @OfficialSkateBaby himself

Some people skate, but other people SKATE SKATE! Those who SKATE SKATE most likely learned how to roller skate at a young age going far back as to being in their mother’s wombs! Think about that!! Many skaters got their start at 2, 3, and 4 years old. As they learned to walk they learned to skate! Now that’s what you call a “SkateBaby”- A skater who roller skating journey started at a young age. @Officialskatebaby has coined that concept into a successful movement within the roller skating community. We caught up with him for a quick Q&A.

Q: What’s your name?
A: My name is Joe, Joseph or Joe Skate.

Q: Where are you from?
A: I’m from HOUSTON 🤘🏽 AKA H-TOWN.

Q: At what age did you start roller skating?
A: Around 5 years old.

Q: Quads or Blades?
A: Quads of course! I did blades for a little bit when I thought they were cool. My moms wasn’t having that though.

Q: Share one of your favorite skate stories?
A: Hmmm. My greatest fall! I was about 16; I was teasing one of my boys in front of some girls we invited to skate. Next thing you know…I remember rolling out, did a move trying to show out, and boom 🤯 fell right on my back!!!

Q: What do you love about roller
skating?
A: It’s Relaxing. I love watching other people skate too. Before I started traveling all I knew was Houston. Since I’ve been traveling I find a lot of styles really interesting.

Q: What inspired “Skatebaby”?
A: Well, I was literally a Skate Baby. Watching my Mom and Uncles roll, I tried to roll like them. It was only right!

Q: Can you share a fun “Skatebaby” story.
A: Hmmm. I had no plans on selling SkateBaby gear. I was making a shirt for myself. I played with one idea. Printed it. It was “so so”, but I wanted to make it better. So, I got with an illustrator to create what I had in my head. I made one shirt. I thought it was dope, so I posted it! Now it’s a year later, 400 shirts later, and it’s still growing! I have sooooo many ideas I’m putting together!

Lastly…

Q: What do you think about the growth of roller skating?
A: I like the growth a lot. Seeing the younger crowd coming up is pretty dope. Kinda wish parties still had a age limit though lol. That was my getaway from rolling with the youngsters in the rinks here in Houston.

Published by @SK8VIBEZ.COM

ROLLER SKATE NEWS

2 thoughts on “Are you a SkateBaby 👶🏽 Find out more about Mr. @OfficialSkateBaby himself

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started